💡 Trivia An employee at Pixar accidentally deleted almost all of Toy Story 2 during production

Beatriz9

ᴇxᴛʀᴅɴʀʏᴡᴍɴ
Legendary
16-.webp

Ed Catmull, the co-founder of Pixar, wrote in his book Creativity Inc. that the year before the movie came out, someone entered the command ‘/bin/rm -r -f *’ on the drive where the files were saved, which immediately removes everything from the file system. Scenes started deleting, and 90% of the film was erased. Still, they panic—until they realized their backup system wasn’t working correctly.

It would have taken a year to recreate what was deleted, but luckily another employee had a second backup of the entire film on her laptop at home.

(c) rdcom
 

About this Thread

  • 2
    Replies
  • 124
    Views
  • 2
    Participants
Last reply from:
Beatriz9

Trending Topics

Online now

Members online
1,088
Guests online
5,783
Total visitors
6,871

Forum statistics

Threads
2,327,903
Posts
29,238,550
Members
1,161,316
Latest member
mightybond125
Back
Top